Desjardins Capital and Siparex join forces to put their private equity expertise to work helping companies grow on both sides of the Atlantic

Both companies already work with Quebec-based and European SMEs

Desjardins Capital, the venture and development capital fund management arm of Desjardins Group, and Siparex, a French company specialised in growth capital and buyouts, announced a strategic partnership. This partnership will provide support for Quebec-based and European SMEs looking for trans-Atlantic business opportunities. Siparex and Desjardins Capital are already working with companies interested in international expansion and the two are a natural fit, given their 40-year track records of supporting SMEs.

“The European and Canadian markets are more attractive than ever,” says Guy Cormier, President and CEO of Desjardins Group. “All the more so since the provisional implementation of the EU-Canada Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) on September 21. Thanks to a key strategic alliance with Siparex, a natural partner for Desjardins, we’ll be able to help business owners grow their businesses abroad.”

Natural partners

“Business owners in Quebec have asked us to help them open the door to the European market. In response, Desjardins Capital and Siparex are pooling our direct and indirect financial strengths, our human resources and our expansive networks. The businesses in our portfolios will also have access to best governance practices, as well as insights into different cultures and the regulatory and fiscal frameworks where they want to grow internationally,” says Luc Ménard, Chief Operating Officer of Desjardins Capital.

“Siparex is one of France’s leading private equity groups,” says Bertrand Rambaud, President of Siparex. “This partnership will pay off for companies on both sides of the Atlantic: It will give Quebec businesses the support they need to stake a claim in France and across Europe, while putting French businesses on solid ground in Quebec and elsewhere in Canada.”

About the Siparex Group

The 40-year-old Siparex Group is an independent French private equity specialist investing in SMEs and mid-caps. The group manages some 1.8 billion euros in multiple sectors: Midmarket (SMEs/mid-caps), Mezzanine, Small Caps (SMEs) and Innovation under the XAnge brand (growing technology SMEs). Siparex covers the entire domestic market from its offices in Paris, Lyon, Nantes, Lille, Strasbourg, Besançon, Dijon and Toulouse. Its international offices include Madrid, Milan and Munich, and it has also developed partnership in Canada and North Africa (Tunisia, Morocco and Egypt). For more information: www.siparex.com.

About Desjardins Capital

Nearly 45 years strong, Desjardins Capital (previously Desjardins Business Capital régional et coopératif and Desjardins Venture Capital) has a mission to value, support and nurture the best of Quebec entrepreneurship. With assets under management of C$2 billion, Desjardins Capital helps contribute to the longevity of more than 430 companies and cooperatives in various sectors from across Quebec. In addition to helping to create and maintain more than 68,000 jobs, this subsidiary of Desjardins Group offers business owners access to a large business network while also serving as a source of complementary funding that supports business growth. Desjardins Capital manages Desjardins Capital PME and Capital régional et coopératif Desjardins (CRCD), a public company with more than 101,000 shareholders. For more information, visit Desjardins Capital.

– 30 –

For further information (media inquiries only):

Siparex

Priscille Clément
Director of Communications
+33 1 53 93 04 27 or (cell) + 33 6 14 80 75 22
p.clement@siparex.com

Desjardins Capital et le Groupe Siparex unissent leur expertise en capital de développement pour appuyer la croissance outre-Atlantique des entreprises

Les deux organisations sont déjà actives au profit des PME québécoises et européennes

Desjardins Capital, une composante du Mouvement Desjardins spécialisée dans la gestion de fonds de capital de développement et de capital de risque, et le Groupe Siparex, une entreprise française spécialisée dans le financement de projets de développement et de transfert d’entreprises, annoncent un partenariat stratégique destiné à accompagner la croissance outre-Atlantique des PME québécoises et européennes. Déjà en action auprès de PME intéressées par l’internationalisation de leurs activités, le Groupe Siparex et Desjardins Capital estiment être des partenaires naturels compte tenu de leur expertise éprouvée pour soutenir la croissance des PME depuis plus de 40 ans.

« Les marchés européens et canadiens sont plus que jamais attrayants pour de nombreux entrepreneurs, d’affirmer Guy Cormier, président et chef de la direction du Mouvement Desjardins. D’ailleurs, la mise en vigueur provisoire de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union Européenne, en date du 21 septembre dernier, ne fait que renforcer un tel constat. Grâce à l’alliance stratégique majeure avec le Groupe Siparex, un partenaire naturel pour nous, Desjardins devient un véritable facilitateur pour tous les entrepreneurs désirant croître sur les marchés étrangers », a soutenu M. Cormier.

Des partenaires naturels

« Les entrepreneurs québécois nous ont demandé de les appuyer dans leurs démarches d’ouverture vers l’Europe. Aujourd’hui, Desjardins Capital et le Groupe Siparex mettent en commun leurs capacités financières directes et indirectes, leurs ressources humaines ainsi que leurs réseaux étendus de contacts. Les entreprises de nos portefeuilles respectifs auront également accès aux meilleures pratiques de gouvernance, à une meilleure compréhension de la culture, du cadre règlementaire et fiscal lié à leur internationalisation », de préciser Luc Ménard, chef de l’exploitation de Desjardins Capital.

« Le Groupe Siparex compte parmi les premiers groupes en capital investissement en France, de faire valoir Bertrand Rambaud, Président du Groupe Siparex. Ce partenariat de codéveloppement a pour objectif de créer une dynamique sur les deux continents : apporter aux entrepreneurs québécois un accompagnement solide pour développer d’autres marchés en France et ailleurs en Europe, et réciproquement, accélérer le développement des entreprises françaises au Québec et ailleurs au Canada. »

 

À propos du Groupe Siparex

Le Groupe Siparex, créé il y a 40 ans, est le spécialiste français indépendant du capital investissement dans les PME et ETI. Le Groupe affiche des capitaux sous gestion de 1,8 milliard d’euros répartis entre les activités Midmarket (PME/ETI), Mezzanine, Small Caps (PME) et Innovation sous la marque XAnge (Digital, Impact). Siparex couvre l’ensemble du territoire national à partir de Paris, Lyon, Nantes, Lille, Strasbourg, Besançon, Dijon et Toulouse. Également tourné vers l’international, le Groupe est implanté en Europe à Madrid, Milan et Munich et a noué des partenariats au Canada et en Afrique du Nord (Tunisie, Maroc et Égypte). Pour plus d’information : www.siparex.com.

 

À propos de Desjardins Capital

Forte d’une expertise de près de 45 ans, Desjardins Capital (auparavant « Desjardins Entreprises Capital régional et coopératif » ou « Desjardins Capital de risque ») a pour mission de valoriser, accompagner et garder les entreprises et coopératives au Québec. Avec des actifs sous gestion de 2 milliards de dollars, Desjardins Capital participe à la pérennité de plus de 430 entreprises et coopératives évoluant dans divers secteurs d’activité et issues de toutes les régions du Québec.  En plus de contribuer à maintenir et créer quelque 68 000 emplois, cette composante du Mouvement Desjardins offre aux entrepreneurs un accès à un large réseau d’affaires. Elle constitue également une source de capitaux complémentaire permettant d’appuyer la croissance de leurs entreprises.  Desjardins Capital gère notamment le fonds Desjardins Capital PME et Capital régional et coopératif Desjardins (CRCD), une société publique comptant plus de 101 000 actionnaires. Pour plus de renseignements, visitez notre site web Desjardins Capital ou consultez notre page LinkedIn.

– 30 –

Renseignements (à l’intention des journalistes uniquement) :

Mouvement Desjardins
Richard Lacasse
Porte-parole média
+1 418 835-8444 ou
1 866 835-8444, poste 556 3163
media@desjardins.com
Groupe Siparex
Priscille Clément
Directeur de la communication
+33 1 53 93 04 27 ou
(mobile) + 33 6 14 80 75 22
p.clement@siparex.com